Identity Crisis

I’m meeting with my advisor tomorrow to try to (supposedly) figure out what I’m going to do for my thesis.  I felt like graduation was a million light years away and now…I only have one semester of classes left.  Tonight, I sat down and tried to hammer out the four or five vague research ideas that have struck me as potential candidates for research over the last year.  I guess it was semi-productive.  But I feel like I’m going through an identity crisis.  Who am I?  What am I trying to accomplish here?  What am I most passionate about?  What can I spend an entire semester researching without losing my mind and wanting to staple things to people’s heads?  It seems like I should know by now who I am and where I’m going.  Instead I feel like I’m drifting, without compass, stars or rudder, on the vast ocean of literature and rhetoric.  Here’s hoping that my advisor can toss me a lifeboat and some oars.

One thought on “Identity Crisis

  1. Pingback: Seeing stars… | A Stack of Books and a Cup of Tea

Leave a Reply

