The Only Way Out is Through

Three weeks of grad school.  Six weeks of teaching.  And then, freedom.  Light.  Air.  Space.  Exercise.  Reading for fun.  Cooking my own food.  Cleaning my own house.  Taking care of my own husband.  I’m so close and so completely worn thin.  I get to this place every year.  I wake up in the mornings and think, “How in the world am I going to make it through another day?”  But somehow I do.  Tim always tells me that time is the most constricting and the most liberating phenomenon in the human experience.  It constricts us because we have so much to do and never enough time in which to do it.  But it liberates us because regardless of what’s happening, it keeps moving.  Anyway.  Time to hit the hay so that I’m at least slightly better prepared to face tomorrow.  But before I turn in, I thought I’d share some more grad student quotes that a colleague just shared with me.  Apparently I’m not the only one to write down hilarious quotes.

“Coming to terms with WWII was very traumatic for the Germans.” Ah-hem, among others…

Professor: “Why do you think she takes these long drives?” Answers: “Maybe she has a disease? Cancer?”

About same story: “I also wonder if there is actually someone named ‘Jesus’.”

“This didn’t really seem to be written by a human.” Yes – that quote came from our graduate seminar in American literature. Yes it did.

“I was the only one in a skirt with pointy shoes. I think I stood out like a sore thumb as the only heterosexual.”

“Where I grew up the Indians didn’t try to look white or put their hair up in curlers or anything.”

“When I went to Norway I wasn’t appropriately dressed. It was illegal at that time for girls to wear pants to school.”

“You know, I was on a train once…”

“Have you seen the movie ‘Ratatouille?'”

“When I hitchhike…”

“I don’t know if you’ve ever been in one of these types of therapy groups, but..”

Leave a Reply

