Seeing stars…

Photo: Tomas Del Amo

This is a follow up to a post I wrote a while back called “Identity Crisis” (read that post here). I wrote in that post that I didn’t have ideas for my thesis and it was causing me to question my interests and passions.  I felt rudder-less.

All that changed after meeting with my amazingly awesome advisor, who I really want to be when I grow up.  She perfectly understands the tension I feel between literature and rhetoric–my love for teaching students how to become excellent writers, but also for sharing with them my deep passion for fiction.  She was able to point me to the place where all of my interests intersect.  The ideas haven’t crystallized yet, but the end product will involve the epistolary novel, public versus private selves, and the rhetoric and fiction of Facebook.  And all of that will tie back in to pedagogy.  It’s going to ROCK.  Suddenly my ship has a compass.  And a rudder.  And I can see the stars.

Leave a Reply

