Loving and Missing

I love my life.

I love my job.  I had some amazing discussions today in both American lit and honors comp.  What a privilege to teach teenagers who know how to argue constructively, take pleasure in wrestling with deep truths, and who otherwise live out Aristotle’s statement that “The unexamined life is not worth living.”

I hope that was Aristotle.  I think it was.

I love my husband.  I love that he rubs my feet, cooks dinner for me, still smiles at me like he did on our first date.  Our marriage gets better every single day.

I love grad school and teaching college.  I love being in the academic world and immersing myself in scholarly debate.

But–

I miss peace.  My life is so hectic.  There are no quiet spaces left.

I miss some of my students who have graduated.  Some.

I miss taking care of my house and cooking for my husband.

I miss my life.

Leave a Reply

