A Sonnet I Wrote for Tim

Photo credit: ajpscs on flickr

So often writer’s pen and poet’s tongue

Immortalize a cool and distant love

Goddess whose praises high must oft be sung

By handsome knights who worship her above.

But I possess no flowing golden hair

Your Subaru is not a noble steed

I’m far too clumsy to be counted fair

You have no sword to make fierce dragons bleed

Instead I make you brownies for dessert

And you leave notes upon my steering wheel

You hold me through my darkest hours of hurt

Our love’s without illusion: strong and real

Some spend their lives in fairy tales cold

I’ll spend mine with my best friend growing old

2 thoughts on “A Sonnet I Wrote for Tim

Leave a Reply

