Driven Distracted

Oh dear.

As if I wasn’t already anticipating the end of the school year enough, as of today, I have now officially been driven so crazy-distracted that I can’t focus on my work to save my life.

June 5th, I’m taking a group of students to Europe for two weeks.  We’re going to England, France, Switzerland and Italy.

Today, I heard from our tour director.  He can get us nearly half-price tickets to see The Wizard of Oz at the West End in London.  I’m so excited for England.  I’ve never been there before, but I’ve been teaching British Literature for eight years.  I’ll be in the land of CS Lewis, Virginia Woolf, Charles Dickens, Jane Austen, and…oh yeah, Shakespeare.

He also suggested that we do a tour called “Paris at Night,” in which we take an evening cruise along the Seine, a trip to the very top of the Eiffel Tower while it’s lit up, and then a tour of the most beautiful lights of Paris.

And I signed our group up today for the Mount Pilatus excursion, which includes a cruise on Lake Lucerne and a gondola ride in the Alps.

That’s all in addition to the usual fare like, you know, the Louvre and Buckingham Palace and the Vatican and all that stuff.

Is it possible to die from excitement?

Leave a Reply

