Making Church a Place for All Kinds of Women

church1The hardest Sunday I ever spent at church was a mother’s day some years ago.  Tim and I had been trying to have children for a few years, and we were starting to give up hope of being parents.  It was a painful time of life.  At the end of the service on that particular Sunday, all the mothers were asked to stand, and the pianist played a lovely hymn while the elders delivered a rose to each woman.

It was a small church, so I was the only married woman in the room who was seated.

At the time, I didn’t have the perspective I needed not to take such a thing personally.  Painful circumstances can cause us to be self-focused and to interpret everything through the lens of our own suffering.  I felt humiliated and devalued, like my malfunctioning reproductive system made me less of a woman.  Every wound in my heart cried out as the salt was rubbed in.  I felt like never going back to church again.

What compounded my struggle was how out of place I’d been feeling at church lately.  I was becoming increasingly silent in conversations with my female church friends, because the discussions mostly revolved around diapers and homemade baby food and sleep schedules.  At the same time, I’d started a master’s program, and my new friends were mostly atheists/agnostics.  No one at the university ever asked me if I had children; certainly none of them wanted to know why I didn’t have children.  They wanted to know what I thought about Kant and rhetorical theory and post-structuralism.  In conversations with these friends, I found my voice again.  It felt like I had a place among atheists and no place among Christians.

I’m not alone in this struggle.  I’ve talked with single women who’ve endured painful sermons about how marriage is God’s best for everyone.  I’ve talked to divorced women who’ve endured judgmental comments from fellow churchgoers.  I’ve talked to women who felt completely alone when they suffered miscarriages.

It doesn’t have to be this way. We can make church a place where all kinds of women feel welcome and feel equal.  The ground is remarkably level at the foot of the cross.

I have no problem with acknowledging mothers at church.  Motherhood is a high, noble calling that is sometimes devalued by our culture, and I understand that churches want to make mothers feel honored in their important work.  The problem comes when being a wife and mom is upheld as the biblical norm and other kinds of women are (intentionally or unintentionally) made to feel like second-class citizens.  Are we as a church body acknowledging both the struggles and the contributions of women who don’t conform to the mold?  There is nothing in the Bible that says that women should be married stay-at-home-moms with multiple children.  There is nothing in the Bible that says that women should be highly educated, successful businesswomen. What the Bible does say about the people of the church is that “we are all one in Christ Jesus.”

We don’t need to hear, either from the pulpit or from each other, that being a godly woman means having a job, being married, or having children.  All women need to hear to the same good news: that we are more sinful, evil, and weak than we could imagine, but because of Jesus, we are more valued, accepted, and loved than we ever dared to hope.

The woman feeling lonely and isolated as she wipes snotty noses and potty-trains her toddler needs that good news.  The woman who is a CEO of a Fortune 500 company needs that good news.  The woman who has had an abortion needs that good news.  The single working mom of 5 needs that good news.

Church should be a place where broken people come to be made whole and wounded people come to heal.  It shouldn’t leave us more broken and wounded than before.  This is not some idealistic goal; it can and should be a dynamic reality.  And it’s not something that we can just dump onto the plates of church leadership.  It’s the responsibility of every single one of us to think broadly and empathetically about how to welcome every person who steps through our church’s door.

My story has a happy ending.  I didn’t lose my faith in the midst of my crisis.  I’m now part of a church in which the pastoral prayer always includes a petition for married people, parents, single people, and infertile couples.  Last year, I was part of a women’s Bible study where the discussion dove deeply into scriptural truths and where it felt like every woman had a voice and was valued.  All of this has shown me that it is indeed possible to have a church where the gospel defines people, rather than having some cookie-cutter ideal define people (and let’s be honest, nobody really fits those cookie-cutters anyway).  However, many women have not reached the other side and are languishing in the pews wondering if there’s a place for them in God’s house.  Find them.  Reach out to them.  Talk to them.  Listen to them.  Show them that they matter.  Most of all, point them to the gospel and remind them of who they are in Jesus Christ.

21 thoughts on “Making Church a Place for All Kinds of Women

  1. I loved this so much. I’m reminded of the saying (don’t know where it came from originally) that “Good news isn’t good news unless it’s for everyone.” Thank you for the truth you shared here and for the challenge to each one of us to be the ones who say, “Yes, you belong.” I hope you don’t mind, but I’m going to share this a few places. 🙂

  2. What a beautiful and thoughtful post Emily. So true. I also know many single women — whether never married, divorced, or widowed, as well as married women with no children, who feel isolated and that the church has no place for them. So many are hurt as you were on Mother’s Day, and other days as well. I also felt that way often, but after much healing started making the effort myself to get more involved, and realized that often it was my own feelings that caused my isolation. But still, those who are still in the midst of suffering have no strength or hope to be able to make the effort. You are so right that each one of us needs to be very sensitive to those around us and how we might reach out to them. Thank you so much for your thoughtful post. I’ll definitely be sharing it too!

    • Thanks, Aunt Carolyn! I agree–while we’re are in the midst of suffering we can sometimes intensify our own isolation. Now that I’m in a good place, I feel like it’s my job to reach out to others who are hurting. Glad you enjoyed the post! Much love!!

  3. This is such a great post! One I surely need to be reminded of…I am in the stay-at-home homeschooling camp and have to constantly battle an attitude of “holier-than-thou” that can be prevalent. THANK YOU.

    • Thanks, Amy! I think sometimes it’s as simple as having blinders on–not being aware of people unlike us in our midst. This is as true for single women as it is for married childless women as it is for homeschooling moms. I know it’s often true for me.

  4. Pingback: What I’m Into : February 2015 Edition | Such Small Hands

  5. This sounds so beautiful. It is nice to hear there are places for all kinds of women in the church, and not just volunteering in the children’s programs.

    • I agree. When we reduce women to what they’re able to contribute, we’re not sufficiently valuing them as people, as children of God. Great thought! Thanks for stopping by.

  6. I absolutely loved reading this and I agree with every word. At one time I felt that same pain of infertility and was oddly in the same church situation during that time in Macon, Ga. As you know, I am now on the other side, having been a mother for 17 years now. A couple of things that I have learned…I was no less a woman or child of God while I was childless and I am no more one as a parent. I traded the one pain of infertility for the ongoing pain of parenting. I have realized just how flawed I am and though I try to be the best parent I can, I fail everyday. Thank God that He is in control. I love your words, ” The ground is remarkably level at the foot of the cross”! Amen!

    • So true, Norma. I like how you talked about the pain of childless as well as the ongoing pain of parenting. Each season and situation has its blessings and its struggles.

Leave a Reply

